3 Things I’ve Learned About “Breaking in” to EdTech

Sarah Mondestin
3 min readJan 9, 2022

--

“…we didn’t ‘break in’ to EdTech like criminals. Educators put the ‘Ed’ in EdTech.”

Someone recently asked me how I “broke in” to EdTech and “convinced” the industry that my skills were transferrable. Ouch. I get the question. I probably would’ve asked the same thing 6 months ago. But it sounds like I snuck into an industry and had to beg them to believe that I was supposed to be here.

I am an educator. And on behalf of other educators, we didn’t “break in” to EdTech like criminals. Educators put the “Ed” in EdTech. So, for my educators and anyone looking to hire them, here are 3 things I’ve learned about the shift from the classroom to EdTech.

  1. I will always be an educator. Since the days of me lining up my dolls in my room and teaching them to read, I have always and will always love to teach. I have been an educator in some way, in every job I have had-even when I was selling Vans at the mall in high school. Some of us simply gravitate toward teaching, helping, and creating in a way that makes it easy for others to learn. Not everyone can do this. This is a valuable skill that I’ve been able to use as an EdTech manager by training my team and listening to other educators. Good teaching, training, and leading are all needed in EdTech.
  2. I am my own marketer. I know all of the neat things I’ve done in my career. So why not highlight them on my resume? When I was looking for EdTech positions, I followed companies I loved and used in my classroom. Then, I paid attention to the verbiage they used in their job descriptions. I found the skills they listed that matched with mine and focused my resume on those skills and their outcomes. I connected the dots so the recruiter wouldn’t have to. I didn’t know anyone on the inside or have an inside scoop. My shift to EdTech was a raw combination of communicating my skills and successes on my resume and profile, having a wonderful team of hiring managers who understood the value of educators, and a whole lot of prayer!
  3. I’m not breaking in; I’m shifting roles. I went from being a daycare assistant in high school, to a college recruiter, to a professor during my graduate studies, to a 1st grade classroom teacher’s assistant, to a teacher of an elementary classroom, to a principal of two K-8 schools, to a high school English teacher, to a college writing professor (again), to an owner of a tutoring and editing company, to an EdTech manager. See the trend? I’ve been in education for over 20 years but have shifted roles along the way. I’m not “breaking in” like I don’t belong here. I’m moving from one position to the next. Education is fluid. Teachers become administrators who become writers who become business owners and managers, and who will probably end up teaching again. If we look at this shift as a career progression instead of a career change, perhaps it will seem more like a road than a mountain.

So how does one shift from the classroom to EdTech?

  • Get a resume coach.
  • Follow companies you know and love.
  • Read job descriptions.
  • Align your skills with the skills needed.
  • Take on responsibilities at your current job that speak to where you want to be.
  • Stay current with EdTech trends.
  • Take classes.
  • Connect.
  • Pray.
  • Make sure that your shift adds to your health and the health of your family.
  • And most of all, remember your value as an educator!

--

--

Sarah Mondestin

UX Writer/Content Designer at BrainPOP. Advisor at UX of EdTech. Content Designer. Wife. Mama.